Drown Me in Hu!


I sit in the stillness of a thousand reflections
while the bees hum as they seek the fullness of summer
and the cold stone of the water basin beneath me
lends a welcome coolness in the sun burnt air.

A blaze in my eye and I in Yours, as water pours
from the rock that records the tears of generations
and splashes against my skin, burning my heart
like sparks of fire as each drop catches the light.

Reflections of You in the mirrors of the seasons.
Oh mihrab of my heart, leaping like a golden fish
from rock to basin, from tears to fiery love,
carry me to the ocean and drown me in Hu!

11 thoughts on “Drown Me in Hu!

  1. Thank you for the lovely and stirring poem. It was truly wonderful.

    May Allah guide your pen, for His pen is cut from the reedbed of the heart, and therein lies the Truth.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. Salaam seekerofwisdom, thank you for your words. I have been very quiet over the summer but I intend to start writing here more regularly again.

    My duas are with you.

    Ya Hayy!

  3. Salaam seekerofwisdom, thank you for your words. I have been very quiet over the summer but I intend to start writing here more regularly again.

    My duas are with you.

    Ya Hayy!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.