BBC – An Islamic History of Europe


“In this 90-minute documentary, Rageh Omaar uncovers the hidden story of Europe’s Islamic past and looks back to a golden age when European civilisation was enriched by Islamic learning. Rageh travels across medieval Muslim Europe to reveal the vibrant civilisation that Muslims brought to the West. This evocative film brings to life a time when emirs and caliphs dominated Spain and Sicily and Islamic scholarship swept into the major cities of Europe. His journey reveals the debt owed to Islam for its vital contribution to the European Renaissance.” (courtesy BBC from youtube)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “BBC – An Islamic History of Europe“, posted with vodpod

2 thoughts on “BBC – An Islamic History of Europe

  1. Salaams Sister,

    My family and I visited Andalucia in the summer of 2005 having watched this documentary by Rageh Omaar which was first aired by the BBC around April/May of 2005.
    I would never had considered going to Spain for a holiday with the kids. Having watched this film, I realised how little I knew about the history of Islam in Europe and how ignorant I was about Spains history in particular.
    If anyone has not been to Andalucia, just go. We visited Seville, Cordoba & Granada and I tell you, we loved every minute of it. The Alhambra Palace was just magical and for me as an artist, inspirational too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.