Book of Roses


I listen to my heart

Photo by Y K Randall

Photo by Y K Randall

And breathe
The scent of love.
I listen to my heart
And devour
The taste of desire.
I see and hear
Words written
Into an ancient book
Of which I never tire.
It is the story
Of the Beloved’s purpose
To which I aspire

And yet I ask
And ask again
Ya Rabb!
Help me read
This book within
That is covered
With the roses
Of Your love
And reminds me
Of the deen.
And then I know,
My fingers speak
My heart is keen

“Pour your love
Into those words
Of silent longing.
It knows the rose,
And in the dark
Flies the nightingale
Following the fragrance,
Opening her throat
To tell the world
The Beloved
Has bridged the moat”

In the morning
Comes a sign,
Passed from sister
To dear sister
To sister again.
A barakah chain
And meanings align
To place a hand
On the heart
Of this fool
And a whisper,
“Be my tool,
You are nothing,
Hu is all!”

A gift of roses
To mark the book,
Hu’s Name,
Ahmad’s light,
Beads of prayer,
Is what it took
To take me there.
Now this fool
Will keep this gift
And ever hear,
“Be my tool,
You are nothing,
Hu is all!”

9 thoughts on “Book of Roses

  1. Salaam Sis, thank you for your comment. This poem is one of my own favourites too.

    As for Nano, oh dear, I still haven’t decided which of four possible storylines I am going to work on. But that’s what I like about Nano, its necessary spontaneity that makes every day a surprise and makes writing feel very much like reading a book and you don’t know what’s going to happen next. See you over there

  2. Salaam Sis, thank you for your comment. This poem is one of my own favourites too.

    As for Nano, oh dear, I still haven’t decided which of four possible storylines I am going to work on. But that’s what I like about Nano, its necessary spontaneity that makes every day a surprise and makes writing feel very much like reading a book and you don’t know what’s going to happen next. See you over there

  3. Salaam Dear Sister:

    What a lovely and moving poem. Roses indeed are the perfect metaphor of love that is the Qu’ran. We are nothing, Allah is all.

    Ya Haqq!

  4. Salaam Dear Sister:

    What a lovely and moving poem. Roses indeed are the perfect metaphor of love that is the Qu’ran. We are nothing, Allah is all.

    Ya Haqq!

  5. Salaams Sister,

    Masha-Allah how beautiful.
    Its been a while since I have logged on and its great to get on the computer to find you writing again. Alhamdullillah.
    I pray your Eid went well.
    Love and salaams
    Umm Aisha

  6. Salaams Sister,

    Masha-Allah how beautiful.
    Its been a while since I have logged on and its great to get on the computer to find you writing again. Alhamdullillah.
    I pray your Eid went well.
    Love and salaams
    Umm Aisha

Leave a Reply

