We Can’t Stop Dancing In the Tavern


We can’t stop dancing
in the tavern!
Around each other,
with each other,
towards each other.
I pirouette and stamp.
Clap! Who is your lover?

You raise your glass with glee
and scoff the wine,
smiling like a satyr,
singing like a saint,
moving like a lover.
I loop my hands through space.
Whirl! Come face to face!

You raise your arms with passion.
Supple hands swoop
to embrace my waist,
take my hand,
ignite my heart.
A prayer escapes our souls
as we dance like holy fools

Leave a Reply

