Destiny and Freewill


Thoughts on Destiny (Qadar) and Free Will (Ikhtiyar)

As I was falling asleep last night I began thinking about destiny and free will. I cannot remember what initiated these thoughts but almost as soon as I began reflecting on this perennial problem the Day of Alastu (yawm al-mithāq), as Sufis call the primordial covenant with Allah, came to my mind. It might be better if I said that it came into my heart because it appeared like an immediate answer and solution to all the arguments in favour of one or the other. In that moment before creation all our souls were given a choice when they were drawn forth from the loins of Adam and asked:

Alastu bi Rabbikum?'(Am I not your Lord?), to which they reply, ‘Bala Shahidna’ (Yes, it is so). Qur’an 7:172.

Is this not both destiny and freewill in those few, all embracing words? I just pray that I continue to remember that covenant deep within me until every moment of my life is guided by my destiny to return and my choice to travel willingly.

7 thoughts on “Destiny and Freewill

  1. Shukran, sufibridge. I had planned to write a great long article on the subject and began making notes but then it was like I was stopped from writing more because this is enough for me and embraces anything else I might have written about the subject.

  2. Shukran, sufibridge. I had planned to write a great long article on the subject and began making notes but then it was like I was stopped from writing more because this is enough for me and embraces anything else I might have written about the subject.

  3. I’m pretty sure I know what you mean.It really becomes a knotty problem if one tries to use one’s mind on it. I think what you have written came in an intuitive way at a sensitized moment in the day so that something spoke through you rather than your brain getting in the way.It is perhaps akin to a story which Sheikh Nazim tells about Moses, which ilustrates how total acceptance of destiny is the only way to change it!I would be very happy to be able to put that piece of knowledge into action right now in my life.(Pray for me that I may be able to if you like.)

  4. I’m pretty sure I know what you mean.It really becomes a knotty problem if one tries to use one’s mind on it. I think what you have written came in an intuitive way at a sensitized moment in the day so that something spoke through you rather than your brain getting in the way.It is perhaps akin to a story which Sheikh Nazim tells about Moses, which ilustrates how total acceptance of destiny is the only way to change it!I would be very happy to be able to put that piece of knowledge into action right now in my life.(Pray for me that I may be able to if you like.)

Leave a Reply

